top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStep 5 Creative

Easter Basket Inside -- Then Out!

Ahh...there is nothing like springtime weather to motivate and inspire us for flowers and garden plants! If you’re like me, this time of year you find yourself buying every spring plant that suits your fancy…without having any idea of what you are going to do with them!


On a recent outing to my local greenhouse, I did just that. Here is what I came home with:

Hydrangea

Ferns (Boston and Maindenhair)

Begonia

Daffodils

Tulips

Hyacinth

Ivy

Peperomia


With my selections, I chose to put together my version of a living Easter basket that will be displayed inside my home for the spring and Easter holiday, and then eventually transition many of the plants outside to empty spaces in my garden.

Try one for yourself! This living arrangement is bound to make your guests smile, and would also make a fabulous hostess or housewarming gift.


Spring Container Garden tips:

1. If you are using a deep container, you can save on soil by placing filler items such as empty pots flipped upside down, packing peanuts, or pinecones in the bottom half of the container.

2. The spring season is brief, so most plants won’t have time to expand and grow. I stuff a lot of plants in my container to give an instant, full and luscious look! Don’t be afraid to do the same.

3. Place in indirect sunlight.

4. Keep the soil moist.

5. This container will last 3-6 weeks inside. The bulb plants (tulips, daffodils and hyacinth) will be the first to go. When they do, you can simply plant them outside in your garden to bloom again next year, and then add more houseplants in their place to keep the garden growing inside.

The countdown to Spring is on! Enjoy the season!





bottom of page